Posted in Earth energies, empath, empaths, sensitivity, spiritual lessons

Baby Steps and New Year’s Goals



Being both creative and a sensitive means I am highly imaginative, maybe even a hint of dramatic, and I overwhelm easily.

As a sensitive empath, I can get overwhelmed psychically. I already take in so much information on a deep level every day. Too much chaos around me equals chaos inside of me. I easily take on a great deal that isn’t mine.*

As a creative, I always have 3000 ideas for projects running around in my head. That is a very cool thing if I was three people in one.

The big guidance I am getting is to create baby steps so I don’t overwhelm and freak myself out. Here’s an example.

It’s time to make big changes in my life health-wise. I am completely addicted to sugar to keep up my hummingbird-like energy. So, I see the mountain ahead of me. Since I like climbing mountains I start to plan. I will get rid of all sugar in the house. I will substitute with healthy alternatives. I won’t buy dessert at dinner at the restaurant. Yeah. Right. This will last for about 5 minutes before the panic sets in and I will finish that box of leftover Christmas cookies. I’ve just raised the bar so much that I won’t succeed.

It’s Monday and the new year so it’s time now to do all my business goals right now. I will start my whole way of doing things in a new way all today. In fact, this week I will manifest my new publisher and create the full proposal and finish my healing deck. I will be completely organized with my scheduling. I will create ten new doors to opportunity…

PANIC. Where’s the cookies?

Baby steps make more sense. Even if you realized you need a new job, new career, new anything, you will still get there one step after another. There is no reason to overwhelm, or put that much pressure on yourself unless you are one of those overachieving, motivating speakers who seem to have superpowers or a good supply of amphetamines. (I doubt highly these folks are empaths.) For sensitive and creative people who tend towards this behavior, remember that change needs to happen slowly and steadily. What we really fear is the drastic and that’s not what we want to create. We’ve had enough of that kind of change in the past year, why hurt ourselves?

As a child, I was always going against my own rhythms and following others’ that didn’t fit me. I may be more of the tortoise than the hare, but I get where I need to go. I love Nature because Winter isn’t rushed so there’s Spring. There’s time for everything. There’s steps.

What’s your next baby step?

*I’m completing my Tips for the Sensitive Ebook that provides all those juicy tools on how to balance out your sensitivity.

Author:

I'm Ronni, a designing fairy living among the humans. I'm a writer and a designer/illustrator who loves to share what I've learned to help others in a fun way, whether it's my Help! I'm Sensitive series for the empaths, Healing Fairy Alphabet Deck for the part fairies, or the Idea Emporium for budding designers, I hope my creations help make life more fun and easier. My products are all about WISDOM, DELIGHT, EMPOWERMENT & ACCEPTANCE. I live in a treehouse with my elf, giant ooh-yellow dog, and three step-fairies.

7 thoughts on “Baby Steps and New Year’s Goals

  1. Get the cookies out of the house… take them to the local senior center or fire department… either will appreciate them and you won’t feel bad about “wasting them”.

    I find a really satisfying “treat” is a TBS of peanut butter smothered in agave syrup… the agave for sweet (but not TOO sweet) and the peanut butter for fat (good fat) that will stay with you a long time…

    I was addicted to sugar as well; the less you eat, the less you want it… remember that you need to replace one behavior with another… i.e. instead of automatically ordering desert, take a walk as your desert…. get out of the danger zone!

    Capricorns always look to WILLPOWER first; try using power instead of force!

    1. I think some cookies are fine. Just not so many cookies! My inner fairy wants to bite you for suggesting I take all the cookies out of the house, Karla. Ha ha! Reminds me when years ago, my Mom was into the health craze and gave us carob chips, etc. I still can’t look at carob without disdain.

      1. I conquered my addiction to tortilla chips by removing them all from the house. Between my husband and myself, we ate 4-5 bags/week.

        Cold turkey was the only way I could go, and now I rarely even want them. I still will eat a few if I am out, but I never allow them in the house. My method of “control” is not having it around… I’m too lazy to go out and get it…

        Go ahead and bite me… I’m not too sweet – rather thin and stringy…

  2. next baby step following my daily plan of self-care…5 daily goals simple huh…i will keep u posted
    Ronnie do not remove the cookies…just find the balance one cookie at a time….not all the cookies all the time
    The only poison is to much of a good thing…then it becomes a bad thing….oh and patience love of self can be a Himalayan Mountain to climb

Comments are closed.