Posted in empath, empaths, sensitivity, spiritual lessons

Make your year-end manifesto


I just had a birthday. I was guided to make a personal birthday manifesto. This long list would be culled from clues from my many journals that I keep track of my life in.

my current journal

It is here where I decide what to get rid of in my life and what I shall keep in the coming year. And sensitives and empaths, you may very well relate to my list. Consider writing one of your own to end out your year.

Include in your manifesto:

  • List the areas where you continually are either a/triggered b/upset c/angry or d/just plain unhappy or bitch about, and translate those into boundaries of what you won’t allow into your life. Create some powerful walls to protect yourself.
  • List the areas that made you happy, smile, and feel good about yourself and life. These are the must-have’s; the fuel for your tank. These are the things that no matter how busy life becomes you will include these or you will see a lack of balance and an unhappy you. It’s a way to stay on path and on track.
  • List regrets. Life is just a series of learning. Our regrets over the last years  are what we would have done differently if we had a time machine. Listing these in no way is a vehicle to “should” on yourself. It’s rather a great way to show how you have grown or learned in the past year.
  • Goals. These are tricky. Many times, in the beginning of the year, we make a ton of wants and goals and then feel like crap by the end of the year when we didn’t lose those 10 pounds or publish our novel. I’d suggest this part be what you’d love to do or experience. Make it doable and possible.

Here’s examples from my Manifesto. I have to have to be happy and what I won’t give up:

  1. my own pace and rhythms
  2. quality time with those I love
  3. teaching my online classes. Totally dig my students.

What I will give up:

  1. other people’s shame or should’s coming at me
  2. giving to those that don’t appreciate it
  3. ignoring my own needs

Regrets for the past years:

  1. I don’t regret adopting per say, but if I had a time machine, I would have been better educated, demanded all the records in the beginning, and asked much more questions. I would have demanded better support.  We were very naive and set up for failure. I would have also made sure my own needs were always met, and in no way, will I ever allow someone, even a child, to abuse me or put me into an abusive environment.
  2. I’d have finished graduate school.
  3. I wouldn’t have eaten that much sugar. Well, this could also be included in my won’t give up list, so it’s a toss up right now as I eat Xmas cookies while I write this.

Writing a year-end manifesto can make some powerful changes as you shape what you want your world to be like. It also can help you stay more in-tuned to what you want, which for most empaths, is hard to do. We are wired to be in-tuned to those around us and our environment first.

(Excerpt from Tips for the Sensitive ebook. Now available by pre-order here.)

 

Author:

I'm Ronni, a designing fairy living among the humans. I'm a writer and a designer/illustrator who loves to share what I've learned to help others in a fun way, whether it's my Help! I'm Sensitive series for the empaths, Healing Fairy Alphabet Deck for the part fairies, or the Idea Emporium for budding designers, I hope my creations help make life more fun and easier. My products are all about WISDOM, DELIGHT, EMPOWERMENT & ACCEPTANCE. I live in a treehouse with my elf, giant ooh-yellow dog, and three step-fairies.

2 thoughts on “Make your year-end manifesto

  1. Thanks for your honesty Ronni! You will find it SO freeing when you do (if you have not already) give up helping those who don’t appreciate it…. you will have so much more time for “self nuturing”.

    I did this one earlier this year….

    1. Good to know, Karla, there is one who traveled down that road and found it can be successful! Most of my lesson was realizing that I WAS giving out so much to those who didn’t appreciate it, and then I could change the behavior.

Comments are closed.