Contacts vs. Glasses & the Empath


It’s amazing how switching from glasses to contact lenses again has changed my perception in life.

One thing I have noticed is I felt more protected when I had glasses. This seems strange.The glasses created a nice barrier between what I was seeing and the world. Without them, I feel vulnerable and exposed.

Being so empathic, I realize that if indeed, the eyes are a window to the soul, perhaps by seeing eye-to-eye with others I may have the tendency to jump in and read too much of another person. I don’t need to go there! My glasses are usually always dirty in some way so that extra barrier must help also.

I feel more attractive with the contact lenses back in place after the long absence, perhaps after years of brainwashing that girls with glasses don’t get passes? Ha ha. I am not sure. It’s not to the world I want to feel attractive with, but myself. I can see my eyes again and all the emotion behind them.

Seeing clearly has other disadvantages. Did I really want to notice this or that? I already notice too much in my environment. It’s almost another barrier to focusing on myself and my own world–another trap for an empath.

As I write this, my left contact is growing fuzzy. Resistant to the new vision? Do I want to run for the glasses and hide again? Maybe…

One thought on “Contacts vs. Glasses & the Empath

  1. “Being so empathic, I realize that if indeed, the eyes are a window to the soul, perhaps by seeing eye-to-eye with others I may have the tendency to jump in and read too much of another person. I don’t need to go there! My glasses are usually always dirty in some way so that extra barrier must help also.”

    I totally feel the same way about my glasses. When I switched to contacts I felt so naked. I ended up switching to glasses after really feeling the need to protect myself. I was around a lot of bad energy back then…

Comments are closed.