Compromise and guidance


I woke up from dream school last night with the final understanding (been working on this one for a long time), that I don’t need to compromise anymore. Underneath that compromise is a firm belief that I need to, to have what I need.

In the past month, I’ve ran around producing, doing, striving and trying (going way against the flow), when my spirit wanted me to rest, and maybe even take a break and go paint, but I hadn’t. A long old fear in me tells me I must be extraordinary and do extraordinary things, in order to have what most folks have and get easily. It isn’t enough I can do some skills others consider extraordinary already, and that in itself should be enough, but no, I need to surpass that. Or I feel in business, I should compromise what I want to do or need to do for the sake of the client or the student, and end up on the short side of the stick. Then, add on top of it a huge amount of creative energy goes through me and I feel and need to create all that comes through. But the constant lately, has been a huge outpouring that does not equal what is coming back. I see this similar struggle in my loved ones too. And all this becomes very evident in the lull–When I am faced paying an important bill and don’t have the support for myself.

So, what do I do during this dilemma? How do I do things differently? I look to the Masters: The books. My helpers. My inner guidance to show me what passages I need.

  • I usually tell myself I need to do x in order to get y. But what I have found lately, is when I am busy working so hard on x from another avenue altogether comes the y.
  • Sanaya Roman and Duane Packer say in the their great book, Creating Money, “Offering your services or your work to those who don’t value it can increase your doubts about your worth, cutting off the flow of energy and thus your abundance.” Perhaps when I overcompromise or feel I need to work harder for some audiences, I am dealing with people who don’t value my work? The right clients for me seem to see the value of what I offer immediately. I don’t have to do much convincing.
  • In another passage they say, “Perhaps you offered a service that was unappreciated and you felt depreciated for a while afterward. That experience may have also been a turning point in your valuing of your work and yourself. Give your work only to those who will value and use it.” Last year I offered a class to the local area that only one person showed up for! That experience hasn’t been cleared from my mind unfortunately.
  • Still looking I am guided to, “Some of you keep trying to make the old forms work, putting more and more effort into them, until you decide to look at new forms and ideas, starting the cycle all over again…Once you have mastered one level, you are ready to go on to the next.” Hmm. This is telling. I have made a big leap lately and have that “my old clothes don’t fit me” kind of feeling. It’s why I felt guided not to to teach the book classes at the college this semester.
  • And the last quote I see, “There are four basic states of flow you might experience: calm, when money is coming in and going out in equal amounts; ebb, when much more money is going out than coming in…” The authors explain in these situations to look at your own energy to where it might not be moving. My energy has been inward and trying to heal, so this makes sense to me. It may be what I needed all along. I wasn’t following my energy but working against it by pushing and doing so much.

Any ideas? Can you relate me fellow blog friends?

4 thoughts on “Compromise and guidance

  1. Boy, do I hear you on this one — I have been working with the power of manifesting.
    I recently learned that I am to be a shamanic practitioner, yet it is not something I feel I can charge for, it is not something I even want to charge for.
    I am going to do my art work and have an art studio as the “professional” front, and let the shamanic work come as the Universe allows and needs.
    This feels like a huge relief to me — I can make my money another way (webwork and graphics make an income) yet allow the gifts I seem to have been given to go out into the world in the easy flow that is not in my own control. This is sort of my gift back to Spirit.
    Sometimes the thing that is most important to us is not the way we make a living.
    At least, that seems to be the path I am now on.
    It also helps that the husband has steady income and buys into a total sharing modality with me – – so I am grateful for his belief in me and in the Spirit work I do, as well. . . .

  2. Hi Ronni,
    I’d love to hear more on this… because if I am understanding you right, I feel like I have been getting a similar message about not compromising.

    If I am understanding you correctly, your message is “follow your passion… do what YOU are PASSIONATE about” and ignore old beliefs that say “but if you want to make money, you MUST do this even tho your heart is not in it”.

    Am I understanding this correctly…. I feel like you are onto something here that can help me too and probably others.

    A couple of days ago I received a “don’t compromise” message related to my dilema about moving and/or relocating. (In the past when I had received the message “don’t compromise”, I thought it meant… “go for the biggest and the best, go for the gold”.) But this time when I received the message “don’t compromise” I received the understanding that “don’t compromise” for me means “focus on what makes you happy and forget the other stuff”.

    And what makes me happy are the simple things…. fresh air, green grass, trees, my dogs and cats, my husband, my flowers, my flower photographs, the feeling I have in my heart when I connect with nature and the Divine, the pictures my son has drawn for me that are on my wall in my bedroom along with my other nature pictures, simple basic unprocessed food that I make and eat at home, making flower essences, feeding the song birds in my backyard, drawing and writing in my notebook after connecting with the trees and flowers, the sunshine, the moonlight.

    I realized that the things that are NOT on my list are things likes “a big mortgage” “a job I hate” “a stick-built house in a suburban neighborhood or the country”. My old beliefs told me that those were basic things I needed to get by in this world. But this new revelation tells me I can have all the things I love without having to put up with the things that bring me down. The truth is I could live much much much simplier and I would still have the things I love. When I step out of my door into the fresh air, green grass, etc, I can just as easlily step out the door of an affordable mobile home and still enjoy all the things I love, without the big mortgage and the job I hate. Why had I always dismissed the thought of living in a mobile home? Some old belief saying I needed something better than a mobile home? I have felt such a relief realizing how much free-er I can be letting go of those old beliefs.

    So for me, I realized that “don’t compromise” means live more simply…. be free-er , more free. Let go of those things that are tied to my old beliefs that I “must” this or I “must” do this. Let go of the “must” and go for the “passion”, the “things I love”.

    I didn’t mean to ramble on. I am afraid I may have made a blog-commenter faux pas. Please forgive me!

    Mary

  3. Hi Em. You need to follow what works for you, right? Everyone’s truth is different I am finding. But I must say that my own healing work is a skill, much like the shamanic work, that took years of training or experience, much like a dentist or a nurse who are also in the healing fields.

  4. Hey Mary!!! Very cool. Yes! What we think SHOULD make us happy and what we SHOULD do is very different than what our souls really love or want. It’s all the old tapes and stuff we learned. I am amazed lately, how my mind tells me “Go do this to make money for what you need.” And I do and it doesn’t and I’m miserable. Meanwhile, money comes from a source I didn’t even know about, doing what makes me happy. So different than what I’ve learned.

Comments are closed.