Posted in Animal Communication

I’m on the soapbox: Zoo owner not very aware


This article caught my eye. At a zoo, a golden retriever takes care of recently abandoned (by their biological mother) tiger cubs.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080731/ap_on_fe_st/odd_adopted_tigers

What caught my eye and got me reeling is this lovely comment by the zoo keeper:

The mother doesn’t know the difference, Harvey said. He said the adopted mother licks, cleans and feeds the cubs.”

She doesn’t know the difference?! Sir, are you unintelligent? Are you saying the dog doesn’t realize or notice the puppies she is nursing are tigers? Maybe, perhaps, because she recently had puppies and nursed her own, she has compassion and love for these babies who were rejected? I’m sorry. I keep forgetting how wild dogs are and how simple and stupid they are. NOT! I don’t know what kinds of dogs this man usually meets, but this sure isn’t my experience.

Don’t get me going…

Author:

I'm Ronni, a designing fairy living among the humans. I'm a writer and a designer/illustrator who loves to share what I've learned to help others in a fun way, whether it's my Help! I'm Sensitive series for the empaths, Healing Fairy Alphabet Deck for the part fairies, or the Idea Emporium for budding designers, I hope my creations help make life more fun and easier. My products are all about WISDOM, DELIGHT, EMPOWERMENT & ACCEPTANCE. I live in a treehouse with my elf, giant ooh-yellow dog, and three step-fairies.

2 thoughts on “I’m on the soapbox: Zoo owner not very aware

  1. I thought the same when I read this story. I’m also concerned about the health of the tiger cubs. I’ve bottle fed newborn kittens, and I know their nutritional needs are different from those of dogs. It seems like the same would be true of the tiger cubs.

    Amy

Comments are closed.